100HappyBlogs #1: A Sliver of Paradise

424822_4491733970284_1920433434_n  surfing228316_1757989868390_7752663_n

{Photos from top to bottom: Key West ’09/ The first wave I ever surfed/ With a friend at our hometown beach}


 

It’s the way that the sky turns every shade of pink, purple, blue and orange right before the sun comes up over the water. You’re looking out to the ‘edge of the world’ and you think that the sun is going to fall right back down, but instead it rises, and you have to squint your eyes a little just to see this.

To kick off my writing of 100happyblogs (a challenge that I’ve started, which you can read about here), I’m telling you all about this little bit of paradise I’m living in.

I’m a native Floridian, so growing up; the beach was always a five minute drive and a $2.50 meter full of quarters. You leave around 9 A.M to get a good setup on a decent strip of sand, and you pack a cooler full of food and sunscreen-this way, you can spend your whole day getting caught in 100 degree weather. Vacationers will have you take their family beach shot (from what I remember, I met a lot of people from England this way), and then they’ll ask you where the best slice of pizza can be found.

This is me growing up, every summer, for 18 consecutive summers for as long as I can remember.

And then it came time to move up to University; my family called it my “move north”- and I’m suddenly a fish out of water, literally. Going to school in Tallahassee, there is no beach for a good two hour drive, and the closest body of water is a lake that is only accessible in warmer weather.

So here I am, a good four months into school, and I’m wishing for my bus ride home already.

I guess what I’m trying to tell you all about, is the fact that I lived in a town which can only be described as paradise, and I didn’t even know it- all until it was too late, and I was pale (for my standards) and lacking some serious Vitamin D.

So, the first thing I can tell you about being happy is that being home is equivalent to being on vacation. It’s true what they say about your home is where your heart is. There is no other place in the world better than toes in warm sand, the local pizza by the slice, and the way the sun looks rising from that ocean view; better than any postcard I could ever send.

This city can keep taking $2.50 from me, for as long as they would like, because the view of the beach: priceless.

Much Love, Miranda

Author: mirandatran

In constant pursuit of my best life, best self, and the very things that set my soul on fire.

4 thoughts on “100HappyBlogs #1: A Sliver of Paradise”

Leave a Reply

