For Olivia- On your birthday,

10257472_742691282429191_2907705513369318932_n

(If puberty had to take a shape to explain itself, it would look something like this)

Happy Birthday!


 

Another year, another birthday letter.

I write one to you always, whether it be a card or now a blog post, but I know that I always try to give you a little advice on your special day, from big sister to little sister; I feel the need to tell you about what I’ve learned as I’ve grown up, and to reassure you that this world right now is not forever, and that whatever challenges you may be facing are going to be the least of your worries.

Being your older sister has always been a privilege, I get to use my maternal skills on you, and you don’t complain about it or call me “suffocating”.

First, you should know that I love you so incredibly much. There’s something about siblings that change the way you look at the world, and the way that you think. When making choices, I know I’ll think once for myself and a second time for you; you’ll always be a consideration before I make any decision.

As for the lessons, I’ve mentioned it already above, but- your world right now is not going to be your world forever. Friends change, locations change, and feelings change. But what you can’t change is your family, and I can tell you now, I’m not going anywhere. The whole world can fail you, except for me; I’ll always be patient, knowing, and listening.

I look back on ‘moments’ in high school and I double over in laughter about the things I was so WORRIED about. When considering the value of a friendship take these words: “I don’t care what they said about me. I want to know why they were so comfortable to say it to you.” (I think JayZ said this- I may not remember his raps, but these words stuck, and I hope you consider them too)

Secondly, when you’re going to pick a college, choose one that makes you feel like you found a second home. I can’t tell you enough about the way choosing a college can change the way you look at the world, and even more importantly, yourself.

Third, find four best friends. I don’t really know why I say four (maybe due to the fact that I have a wonderful four) – but have a group of friends that you can list off on ONE HAND that you know will bail you out of jail, bring you soup when you’re sick, tell you how horrible you look, and listen when your loud mouth just won’t close. I say this because, when we’re fighting and you’re also having a bad day, I want you to be able to go to someone who would do the same things I would do for you. These are your ride or dies, and your chosen family.

Fourth, make time for mom and dad. I miss them a lot when I’m away at school, and I know that being a teenager means that you want to spend more time with your friends than your family, but I know you’ll miss them too one day. So use your time at home wisely.

Fifth, fall in love with a boy that is patient with you. I choose the word patient because it implies that he will be around for more than three dates, and that he will work for your affection. I feel more like an older brother than a sister when it comes to you and boys. But, guarding your heart is a hard thing, though letting someone into your heart is much harder (you can quote me on that). I can tell you many stories, but I know you’ll need to experience those moments for yourself to understand.


 

We’ll continue to have “sleepovers”, fighting for the last piece of chocolate, binge watching TV shows, going on sister dates, telling people we’re twins, wondering if we may have accidentally taken drugs, work on being professional sleepers, scheme to be the next Breaking Bad, encourage “rowdy” behavior, covering for each other, sharing good taste in music, wearing each other’s clothes, telling you how awful you’re looking today, saying we’ll pay the other one back even though we know we won’t, being okay with it, being okay with anything, planning vacations, planning anything at all, talking about our futures, crying about our futures, ugly crying, romantic movies, having half a conversation, understanding the unsaid half, telling the truth, witnessing things, complaining to each other, and listing Professional Sibling on our resumes.

Thank you for being the person to encourage me to write a blog, and always telling me that my ideas are great; even if they end up not being gold, I know that you supported me.

I hope today is one for the books; I wish you a wonderful, beautiful, and memorable birthday.

Thank you for being my favorite person.

I’ll keep trying to be yours too.

 

Love you more, Sillyhaha

Author: mirandatran

In constant pursuit of my best life, best self, and the very things that set my soul on fire.

Leave a Reply

