Something Heavy,

I’m scared,

This weight on my shoulder,

A standard to live up to,

Only heavier when older,

I carry it with me,

Wherever I go,

A pressure to achieve,

Not silver but gold,

What if I falter,

Step away from the line,

Never start when I’m told,

Only layer the lies,

Keep pushing on,

In such a brave big world,

With nothing to give,

But these words that I wrote,

I hope that this life,

Carries me home,

To the things that were meant,

Just to lighten the load.

~M.T.

Author: mirandatran

In constant pursuit of my best life, best self, and the very things that set my soul on fire.

Leave a Reply

