Here it is

I don’t belong to you,
I don’t belong to me.
I belong to the rhythm of the waves,

and the rustle of the leaves,
The tip toe of heavy feet on wooden floors,
When the door creaks loud in a post midnight escape,
And nothing but my thoughts coasting on the road at seventy five miles an hour.
I belong to the way my body takes over in a chart topping guilty pleasure,
And when asked to dance, I’ll never say no.
I belong to the salty tears of sadness, anger, and frustration,
But also to the happiness of comfort foods, a warm embrace and overdue moments in the corners of a coffee shop.
I belong to laughter that shakes sunburnt shoulders, and smiles that brush warm red lips,
And these things I share with you,
And all these things you share with me.
I don’t belong to you,
I don’t belong to me,
I belong to every clumsy movement of my body in this life,
I belong to the world.

Author: mirandatran

In constant pursuit of my best life, best self, and the very things that set my soul on fire.

Leave a Reply

