Mythology

How high are the steps

That you seem to be standing upon

When I look at you

From down here

It makes the light behind you

Seem too bright for my eyes

And your touch

Out of reach.

How low you fell

When the steps I began to climb

And how the steps leveled

And left the façade to fall.

What greatness there is

In being so shiny

Brand new.

How did you ever make it

All the way up to the top

Why did I build you

To touch the sky

When I should have known

That nothing is true

When you pick it up

From below.  

Leave the pennies unturned

And the leaves to fall

Because you descended my dear

And now I know

That building was never my own

But left to the Gods.   

-m.j.t

Author: mirandatran

In constant pursuit of my best life, best self, and the very things that set my soul on fire.

Leave a Reply

